MSFHR Scholar Program

Program Link:

Sponsor: Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research

Value: Award term: five years

Description: The MSFHR Scholar Program supports early-career health researchers who are building leading-edge health research programs, training the next generation of scientists, and expanding their potential to make significant contributions to their field.
Identifies and develops outstanding BC health researchers who are within five years from the start of their first institutional appointment as an independent investigator.
Helps researchers start and develop new programs of research.
Protects researchers’ time to conduct research, develop an independent research career and attract additional research funding.

A Letter of Intent (LOI) stage where applicants are screened for eligibility by MSFHR staff. Consists of the short LOI form in MSFHR ApplyNet.

Full Application stage. Applicants with eligible LOIs are invited to submit a full application. Consists of:
o Program of research and appendices
o Canadian Common CV – MSFHR Full Version
o List of Publications, Patents & Intellectual Property Rights
o Department Head, or equivalent Form

All applications are assessed against a defined set of criteria in three categories:
1) track record, 2) program of research, and 3) environment and support. To be considered for funding, the application must receive a minimum score of 3.8.

Unless otherwise indicated, funding for Scholar awards begins July 1, 2021. Successful applicants must confirm their acceptance of the award within the stipulated time indicated in the award notification package.
The start date may be deferred up to a maximum of 12 months; if a deferral is required, award recipients must contact MSFHR with the deferral request and obtain approval..

Note: In recognition of the impact the COVID-19 pandemic has had on many researchers, applicants will have the option to complete a COVID-19 impact statement as part of the application process.

Contact: If you have any questions, contact Valerie.